The Lonely Road of Suffering

When I first became a Christian, my chief desire was to be a musician; to play drums in a Contemporary Christian band. I sought after it with all my heart. I thought of nothing else. And therein lies the problem. My heart was not focused on God’s will for my life, but rather my own will.

One day, while sitting at the House of Psalms and waiting for Mike Macintosh to lead a Bible Study, I wondered what would happen to me if God had other plans? What would I do if I couldn’t make music? Where would I go? While sitting and praying before the Study, I was reading Joshua. It was then that the Lord spoke to me through His Word. “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9)

That promise has been with me for 38 years now. I never did play drums in a Christian Band (in Church, yes, but never in a band). I am so grateful for the promises of God. And that one has been with me in difficult times. Times when I thought that I would never make it. Times when I blew it so bad, I didn’t think God could (or would) ever forgive me. Times when I was so disappointed and discouraged (in direct contraction to the promise!). Yet, God never gave up on me. Never once did he say, “Randall, you are just too much trouble. Your difficult, stubborn, and stiff-necked” (that’s stubborn in modern day English). Never once. Whatever difficulty I was in, He was always there; always there.

God is there, no matter what you are going through. There are times when you won’t feel His prescience, yet He is right there, in control of everything. Watching, waiting, working His will in you.

Consider this promise from Jesus: “Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” (Hebrews 13:5, NKJV).

Now check this out. In this verse, in the Greek language the New Testament was written in, there is a double negative and a triple negative. The verse literally reads, “I will never, never leave you, I will never, never, never forsake you.”

You’ve got His word on it.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Lonely Road of Suffering

  1. erunner

    Thank you Randall.

  2. Rachel

    Isaiah 53:2b-6, 10-11
    ​​He has no form or comeliness;
    ​​And when we see Him,
    ​​There is no beauty that we should desire Him.
    He is despised and rejected by men,
    ​​A Man of sorrows and acquainted with grief.
    ​​And we hid, as it were, our faces from Him;
    ​​He was despised, and we did not esteem Him.

    ​​Surely He has borne our griefs
    ​​And carried our sorrows;
    ​​Yet we esteemed Him stricken,
    ​​Smitten by God, and afflicted.

    ​​But He was wounded for our transgressions,
    ​​He was bruised for our iniquities;
    ​​The chastisement for our peace was upon Him,
    ​​And by His stripes we are healed.
    All we like sheep have gone astray;
    ​​We have turned, every one, to his own way;
    ​​And the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.

    Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise Him;
    ​​He has put Him to grief.
    ​​When You make His soul an offering for sin,
    ​​He shall see His seed, He shall prolong His days,
    ​​And the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in His hand.
    He shall see the labor of His soul, and be satisfied.
    ​​By His knowledge My righteous Servant shall justify many,
    ​​For He shall bear their iniquities.

    Romans 8:32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?

  3. Rachel, what a wonderful reminder of our Suffering Savior, who knows what it is like to walk the Lonely Road of Suffering. Yet, even Jesus was not alone, “And He who sent Me is with Me . The Father has not left Me alone, for I always do those things that please Him.” (John 8:29, NKJV).

  4. Lilly, thanks for visiting. You and Kelly both know the Lonely Road of Suffering, too. You’ve got a FB message. 🙂

Leave a Reply

