Dealing with Regret

I have always been taught that repentance involves three basic elements:

1. A genuine sorrow (II Corinthians 7:9-10, Mathew 5:3-4)
2. A forsaking of sin (Matthew 3:8, Acts 26:20, Hebrews 6:1)
3. A surrender to the will of God (Acts 9:6, Romans 12:1-2)

So, I believe this and I don’t have any problems believing that God forgives me, no matter what I do (except that whole “blaspheming the Holy Spirit” thing).

The problem for me (and I know of some and believe a great deal of others) is struggling with regret. Honestly, I look at how I have blown it in the past, how I have hurt others, how I have been a bad witness, and my heart breaks.

Perhaps the answer is so obvious that I am missing it completely? I don’t know. But I would like to know.

So tell me, how do you deal with regret?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Dealing with Regret

  1. The only way I can rightly deal with regret is to leave it in the past. I can only rightly deal with it by faith in what God says about His forgiveness of me.

    The Bible tells us that the sacrifice is the only true remedy for our sins. Somehow, I have to fight to get to that place, where I can lay hold of the remedy, and apply it not only to my standing before God, but my human experience.

    Glad you are writing. It is good for my soul to write. I pray that it is a blessing for you too. Thanks for your prayers over the years. J is well.

  2. Mary Brucker

    Here is what I have always heard said,

    say sorry where you need to. and mean it.
    try not to repeat past mistakes.
    remember God removes sin as far as the east is from the west.

    now that being said, it is easier said than done. we all live with regret. we hold onto things we should not hold on too. When I learn to deal with my regret maybe then i will have a better answer.

  3. I condemn myself. Throw myself under the bus.

  4. Mary, your reply is wonderful. Your counsel is excellent, reminding us that God forgives us no matter what. Thanks so much.

  5. Bill, thanks for stopping by. As you know, I posed the very same question on another, private, blog some time ago. Everything you and Mary said is true. However, this is something I struggle with. I do not doubt the forgiveness of God; and I too “…fight to get to that place, where I can lay hold of the remedy, and apply it not only to my standing before God, but my human experience.”
    I’m glad J is good. Still praying for you all. Love in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

