Just Thinking…

Isaiah 55:8-9: “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.” (NKJV)

I often wonder what the LORD is up to. Things look so different from the way I thought they would. It seems to me that the Christian life would be one so attractive, that everybody would want to be a Christian. But, alas, that is not the case.

So why is that? Well the main problem is we don’t think like God. You see, He thinks completely different from us and has to teach us through suffering (mostly) how to think as he does. He brings life out of death, peace from strife, hope from despair, success from failure, and faith from doubt. Exactly the opposite from what we think.

This often kills off all hope in ourselves to be pleasing to Him. And that is exactly His point. Heaven would be a real drag if we just sat around and heard people brag about what wonderful things they were. Nothing I detest more than a bragger.

Also, too often God must use suffering to bring me closer to Him. I wish it weren’t true, but it is. (Read the OT). Every time the children of Israel prospered, they forgot God, and got into real trouble. So, God works as He does for our good.

Do I understand it? No. Because I am trying to comprehend the ways of the infinite God with this little finite brain. So, because His thoughts are not my thoughts, and His ways are not my ways, I have difficulty trying to understand many things He is allowing in my life. Now the good things that happen, well I understand them because I know He loves me (who wouldn’t?); but the difficult things? Well, until I do I’ll just have to trust Him until He clues me in. And we can trust Him.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Just Thinking…

  1. Joe Dallas

    Thanks for a good reminder to help me get started during what’s already become a difficult day. After 30 plus years as a believer I’m still looking for a loophole to that ‘growth through suffering’ thing.

  2. The growth through suffering comes because God is infinitiely creative and doesn’t waste anything. The perfect plan before Satan’s rebellion and man’s fall, I’m sure was not as we perceive things today. But that pesky free will that allows us to love also allows us to rebel. So we can rejoice in what suffering produces but also ache for what has been lost and long for what will be again in the ultimate renewal. Marantha!

Leave a Reply

