Mornings with Jesus

This is from my friend, Jon Clayton, over at

“Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight, He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed.” (Mark 1:35, NKJV)

Do you wake up in the morning, jump out of bed, running for the bathroom, trying to get everything done without showing up late? Is that the best way to live? Is that the way you want to live. Does living in a freaked out rush help you live in a manner that honors God? Not to worry, you are not alone, most people live this way. But there is a better way.

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” (Ephesians 5:15-17)

In order to walk circumspectly, we must give some prayerful consideration to how to live. Maybe one of the first things we should consider is how to start our day in a manner that honors the Lord. That means as we face the day, we are prepared in the Lord for whatever may come our way.

What is your “morning routine?”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mornings with Jesus

  1. Thanks Randy. I am trying to make a series out of the idea. We need to have a routine of intimacy with Jesus. Otherwise it just get past us. God bless you brother!

  2. Anita/Nonnie

    I try to read and pray each morning before going off. (I admit, I get my coffee first!) Somedays are rich and sweet and others are just “rote.” Somedays I am praying as I walk 20 minutes to work. Other days just get ahead of me. Yet, He is always faithful. I agree with your premise though. If I need to brush the scum from my teeth each morning, how much more does my heart and mind need to be cleansed and refreshed through His word and time with Him. However, nowadays I will not allow the enemy or man to condemn me when I don’t live up to someone else’s way of beginning the morning, or even my own plans. His mercies are new every morning! Thankfully.

    I really appreciate your blog Randy.

Leave a Reply

