Hyper-Calvinism

“The true minister of Christ feels impelled to preach the whole truth, because it and it alone can meet the wants of man. What evils has this world seen through a distorted, mangled, man-molded gospel! What mischiefs have been done to the souls of men by men who have preached only one part and not all the counsel of God!.

I have seen the young believer, just saved from sin, happy in his early Christian career, and walking humbly with his God. But evil has crept in, disguised in the mantle of truth. The finger of partial blindness was laid upon their eyes, and but one doctrine could be seen. Sovereignty was seen, but not responsibility… I could point you to innumerable instances where harping upon any one peculiar doctrine has driven men to excess of bigotry and bitterness… There is a necessity that the whole gospel should be preached, or else the spirits, even of Christians, will become marred and maimed… The believer in Christ, if he is to be kept pure, simple, holy, charitable, Christlike, is only to be kept so by a preaching of the whole truth as it is in Jesus.

And as for the salvation of sinners, ah, my hearers, we can never expect God to bless our ministry for the conversion of sinners unless we preach the gospel as a whole. Let me get but one part of the truth, and always dwell upon it, to the exclusion of every other, and I cannot expect my Master’s blessing. If I preach as he would have me preach, he will certainly own the word; he will never leave it without his own living witness. But let me imagine that I can improve the gospel, that I can make it consistent, that I can dress it up and make it look finer, I shall find that my Master is departed and that Ichabod is written on the walls of the sanctuary. How many there are kept in bondage through neglect of gospel invitations.”

C. H. Spurgeon, quoted in Iain H. Murray, Spurgeon verses Hyper-Calvinism (Edinburgh, 1995), pages 155-157

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hyper-Calvinism

  1. …that pesky free will needs to be attended to.

Leave a Reply

