Great Faith

“First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for you all, that your faith is spoken of throughout the whole world.” Romans 1:8, NKJV

Oh, to have great faith! How marvelous that would be. To be able to trust God in any and all circumstances, not because we cannot trust Him; we can, it is just that so often, we don’t. How many times I have despaired of hope, yet He remains faithful!

The faith of the believers had been so notorious, it was spoken of throughout the whole Roman Empire! To be such a man as to have my faith so known!

George Muller was such a man. This is just a few things he said about faith:

“The beginning of anxiety is the end of faith, and the beginning of true faith is the end of anxiety.”

“If the Lord fails me at this time, it will be the first time.”

“To learn strong faith is to endure great trials. I have learned my faith by standing firm amid severe testing’s.”

Trusting God in the midst of every circumstance should be simple for us. Just look at His record of faithfulness in our lives. Yet, we doubt so often.

When Peter sank beneath the waves (after walking on water, no less), Jesus said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” (Matthew 14:31, NKJV), I do not believe it was a stern rebuke. It was, I believe, the tender voice of love, encouraging him not to doubt, but to believe.

Have you heard that tender voice? I have, more times than I can remember. Yet, He has not changed. Even if we do doubt Him, He has promised to never leave us or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5).

Think about it…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

