Giving

I recently read a “Statement of Faith” from a church in my area. They stated that a 10% tithe is a requirement for being in agreement with them. I see a couple of problems with this.

First Problem

Many Christians simply cannot afford to give 10%. They either are barely making enough to get by or have mismanaged their funds. This “requirement” will alienate them, embarrass or even humiliate them. So, perhaps we should offer them financial counseling so they can get their finances in order? Don’t get me wrong. I believe that we should give to God, without a doubt.

I counseled a couple a few years ago about giving. The wife said, “If we don’t tithe, God will give me a flat tire!” I replied, “Do you tithe?” “Yes,” she said. I replied, “Do you ever get flat tires?” She paused for a moment and said, “Yes.” I replied, “Then what is wrong with your thinking?” She considered tithing a legal obligation, so much so, that if she didn’t God would punish her. Nothing could be further from the truth. Such is the same with this church statement of faith.

To require 10% as a legal obligation will limit the range of people you will be able to minister to.

Second Problem

Many Christians can afford to give more than 10%. Significantly more. When I pastored full time, I went to a pastor’s conference. One of the speakers encouraged us to challenge our congregation to give 10%. As some of us discussed this afterwards, I told them that if I told the congregation to give 10% the offerings would decrease, not increase!

The Solution?

“So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver.” (2 Corinthians 9:7, NKJV)

Teach the Word and trust God to speak to the heart of each believer.

Think about it…

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Giving

  1. Rules are often a part of religion…

  2. Unfortunately, you are correct Jon.

Leave a Reply

